Tags

, , , ,

A coffee talk with Christian Torres.

> Deviantart account

> SHADOWNESS ACCOUNT

Sharing the Filipino spirit and talent around the world. πŸ™‚

Check this article and see the artist’s personal life, see his fun stuffs, learn about the Filipino culture and get some creative tips from the artist. πŸ™‚

Personal Life:

Hello Christian! Thank you so much for allowing me to do this interview and to let others get to know you better. Just to make things simple at this very time, tell us, how are you?

Actually, I’m a bit nervous because it’s my first time to be interviewed like this. But I guess it’s normal and can’t be helped. Another thing is I’m not that good in expressing myself in English so pardon me for grammatical errors. Lastly, I’m doing good πŸ™‚

Tell us more about yourself.

Hi, I’m Christian from the Philippines, a student from Technological University of the Philippines taking up Fine Arts course major in Advertising. Hopefully will graduate by March next year. Most of the time, my mind is on the alpha state so prolly you’ll be having a hard to converse with me. I have a thing about cats and dogs, they’re so cute and fluffy. I eat ice cream when I’m feeling blue.

Tell us more about yourself as an artist. What tools do you use when you make new artworks?

I mainly use Photoshop in creating my crafts since it’s the software that I’m most comfortable to work with. To become a succesful freelance artist, that is my dream and I’m working my arse off to reach that.

Can you please describe your art style to us? Or is there any theme that you always consider?

I can’t really describe my art style concretely as of now as I am still in the process of discovering it. I just do and do artworks whenever I have time but I always set some guidelines to keep my style on track. That means as well that I don’t publish an artwork online if it doesn’t follow my gallery stream XD. As of the theme, I’m a huge fan of surreal works or anything that can be associated with dreamland or isolated space. I don’t know but there is a strange feeling in me each time I view those kind of artworks.

Do you have any formal trainings with arts or you just discovered that you have the skills and nurtured it?

The latter^^

When did you first discover your creative talents?

I can’t remember the exact time I discovered my talent but what I remember is I used to draw the cartoon characters in board game. My Papa used to bring lots of bond paper with writings on the front after his office hours. That was rejected papers from the office. So I drew the characters on the back page. Everything started there and the rest was history.

Can you link us to your most favorite artwork from your gallery so far? Just one Tell us why it is your most favorite one.

My Hit Girl fan art because it is my entry for the Graphika Manila book. Fortunately, it got in. For those who’s not familiar with Graphika Manila, it’s a yearly Multimedia Design conference in the Philippines.

Who are your artistic heroes or those people who inspire you the most?

Surrealists like Salvador Dali and Mark Ryden mainly influenced. Em really a fan :heart But my current favorite artist is Hikari Shimoda πŸ™‚ I so love the way she colors

Being a Filipino We know that the world is full of amazing artists. In your own opinion, how would you describe a Filipino artist? and how are you as a Filipino Artist?

Filipino artists are resourceful in nature. I mean, Filipinos will draw without pencil/pen, will paint without oils/acrylic, will sculpt without wood or metal etc. Filipinos are masters of alternatives XD

What makes you so proud as a Filipino?

Like what I have said earlier, it’s being resourceful πŸ™‚ Check this video out and be amazed

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TYEIT6lLb8A

What specific Filipino value that you always put into your heart and mind?

What I really like about Filipinos is that they really value the concept of being a family. Whatever may happen, it’s family over everything. πŸ™‚

Fun

: What’s your story behind your username?

dirtyicecream just popped out from nowhere. Srsly, I don’t know why I chose this as my permanent username. *laughs*

What’s your most favorite Filipino phrase/saying? Can you please translate it and further explain it so that our friends from other countries can understand it better?

Astig!” This Tagalog slang is from the inversion of the syllables in the word “tigas”, literally means “hard”.Astig is synonymous to the word cool or badass XD

Aside from being a great artist, what are your other skills?

I can breathe.

Do you listen to songs/musics while making new arts? Can you share us some of the songs from your playlist?

I do listen to music but after I finish the art. I can’t concentrate well if there are interruptions and I can’t help but to sing(and I suck at it). “The Camerawalls” band is my favorite, an indie band from the Philippines. People say they sounds like The Smiths, I don’t know and I don’t care. I just love their music.It is relaxing and deviates from the mainstream music. And it’s just right to feed your brain after raping it.

Can you share a video that you like the most? It can be from Youtube or Vimeo

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SgCxCZNkQ9E

This. Fantastic Planet trailer. It’s a 1973 sci-fi film. Kind of old film but really worth-watching IMHO. Watch it on youtube (Length is less than an hour and was divided into 8 parts, I think) or simply google the plot. You’ll love it if you don’t pay much attention on the technical aspect of the film. πŸ™‚

Creative Tips

How do you handle creative blocks?

I Let it pass. I don’t work for something until the feeling to do it comes back. Browsing artworks on mags and online is a big help for me as well. This somehow refreshes my ideas.

What inspires you to keep going and how do you keep yourself motivated?

Back track-ing my achievements both IRL and online. From re-reading people’s feedbacks to my artworks, to browsing my works that has been featured on websites. Feeding your self-esteem is not a bad thing (just don’t overdo it lol). It keeps you feel motivated and feel that your hardwork to create art isn’t a waste of time and effort. On the deeper side, whenever I finish a piece, I feel it is another accomplishment for myself. More like a self satisfaction. That’s the reason why I am still here, striving and pursuing my passion.XD Also I used to visit art exhibit 2-3 years ago, that was my way to refill my ideas and shiz. Unfortunately, school stuffs is hindering me to attend art exhibits today poor me D:.

Where do you usually get your ideas?

As I have said earlier, I’m an avid fan of surrealism so basically, all my ideas revolves around that concept. Changes are only in the elements. I’d personally suggest, especially for those who are just starting out, to do the same, it will help you build your own style and makes you identifiable.

Lastly, any message to all the people reading this interview?

Life is too short so put your dreams in action. Don’t just dream, do something to make it come true and everything else will follow. “And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”- Paulo Coelho

 

xoxo,

Skeeper

