101_5320

For a serene and soothing place like Bled in Slovenia, you will never wonder as to why your body wakes up very early in the morning, even if your body clock is not used to the European time, every day.

For as much as I want to sleep, I am always eager to open my day as I breathe in the chilly but comforting wind from our hotel room’s balcony. After doing a series of stretching, I usually rush to the bathroom and  have a steamy bath and prepare myself before my early morning walk routine around the lake.

101_5321

I can still remember when I first saw the lake with my own eyes. I felt that everything seems to be just a part of the fairy tale that I usually think. The surrounding’s so serene, the cold water is so calm and creates a magnificent image of reflection of the things around it and the cold and chilly wind can really help you soothe your tired and restless body after your long trip.

Benches are usually placed just around the area of the lake. I suggest that you take a good rest for a while and enjoy the magnificent view from there and think of happy thoughts that can fuel your experiences with a solid and strong foundation of optimism for your entire stay in Slovenia.

101_5323

I love to think as much as I love to imagine. And to make my stay there more fun, I tried exploring the whole place just by walking. Although bike rentals are also available for a reasonable price (3.5 Euros for every hour), I always think that whenever I walk, I will be able to see closely the beauty of the things around me, and that’s the reason why I chose to walk only.

101_5357

101_5359

Magical Facts

Lake Bled is also the home of the picturesque and the majestic thousand-year-old Bled Castle.

101_5400

For fairy tale lovers like me, this place can give you a glimpse and taste of what it feels like to see a real life castle where you can randomly imagine thousand knights guarding the centuries-old castle, hear the cries of the people in the dungeon seeking for help, a prince charming trying to save the princess from the fire breathing dragon and the things that exaggerates the stories that we usually read and hear. Well, whenever I think of those things, I just tell myself that this is part of my creative training.

Lake Bled is also the home of the Church which can be found at the center of the lake. I will be giving detailed notes and pictures of the two in my next blog posts. 🙂

As the days pass by, I usually see myself exploring a new place around the lake. I try to walk as vigilant as possible, and to check every thing that I can see that catches my interests without ignoring the excitement that I always carry with me and one of which is the array of cute ducks.

101_5443

These ducks are everywhere. You can either way see them while they are resting, swimming, flying or eating the crumbs of bread from the excited tourists visiting the lake too.

101_5407

As I move along, I’ve more interesting things worth remembering. Bled in general has so many things to offer especially when you want to see change from the usual things that you see.

101_5410

One of the most interesting things that I learned from my visit here is that, Slovenes are really close to nature that they try not to harm the environment whenever they need a new passage for cars for example or just a parking space. Look at the picture above for example. I believe that some people will try to remove the big rock from the mountain so they can pave a new road for cars and other land vehicles. But instead of doing that, they tried to combine creativity and function and they both worked together with each other. One thing that I also learned from the Secretary general of the Philippines in Slovenia after my tour with him is that, there is a series of underground parking areas in Ljubljana (the capital city of Slovenia), just because they don’t want to cut the trees just for the parking areas. And I really adore the Slovenes for that way of thinking.

101_5416

The roads here are sooo clean. Trash bins are usually found in every kilometer in the walk trail.

101_5424

101_5426

101_5433

If you want to visit Slovenia, make sure to visit Bled and check out the Lake. 🙂 More blog posts coming soon. c:

xoxo,

Skeeper

